Thursday, December 12, 2013

Williamson County GOP Primary Update

The filing period for the 2014 Elections closed this week, and we have an interesting assortment of  GOP candidates in Williamson County.  Some qualified, some trying to use shiny Red Herrings as qualifications, and some might have filed with the wrong party?

Here's a quick run down:

Judge Stacey Mathews, newly appointed by the Governor to replace disgraced Judge Ken Anderson , has been challenged by Ryan Larson.

Judge Rick Kennon, newly appointed by Governor Perry to fill Judge Burt Carnes' unexpired term, is being challenged by Donna King.

County Court at Law Judge Doug Arnold has been challenged by GOP newcomer Tallion Taylor (Taylor used to vote Democrat, but recently switched to the Republican party).

Three candidates have filed to replace retiring Williamson County Treasurer Vivian Wood: Leander City Councilwoman Michell Cantwell, Jerri Jones, and Ralph Pruyn.  As I've previously written, Jones is an alleged Republican who publicly supported a Democrat for District Attorney in 2012.  (Yes, I have a problem with this.)

Williamson County Commissioner, Pct. 2 Cynthia Long has been challenged by unknown Michael Sorenson.

Williamson County Commissioner, Pct. 4 Ron Morrison has been challenged by Round Rock attorney Rick Guzman. (Unrelated I know, but the latter is married to Round Rock author Lila Guzman who writes good stuff for junior readers.)

Entertainingly enough, Justice of the Peace, Pct. 3 Bill Gravell is being challenged by Robert Lloyd.  Lloyd is suing Williamson County because he doesn't think it fair that he was asked questions about his political philosophy when seeking a political appointment to a political office.  Not sure Mr. Lloyd has filed with the correct party... pass the popcorn on this one. 

Pct. 3 Constable Kevin Stofle will face Jeff Eckert.

County Surveyor Joe Baker is challenged by Shane Shafer. 

Congressman John Carter (HD-31)
State Senator Charles Schwertner
State Reps Marsha Farney (HD-20), Larry Gonzales (HD-52), and Tony Dale (HD-136).
Chief Justice, Third Court of Appeals Jeff Rose
County Judge Dan Gattis
County Court at Law Judges Suzanne Brooks, Tim Wright, and John McMaster
District Clerk Lisa David
County Clerk Nancy Rister
Justices of the Peace Dain Johnson, Edna Staudt, and Judy Hobbs

Will try to provide readers with more information after the holidays.

Updated on December 14 to link to Stacey Mathews' (one "T"!) website and to correct Pct 3 Constable (It's "Kevin," not "Ken"). 

No comments: